skip to content

The Department of English at the University of Cologne

The Department of English is made up of its four divisions: linguistics, literary studies, didactics, and language practice.

There are three chairs for linguistics:

- Chair for Applied English Linguistics (Prof. Adone)

- Chair for Historical English Linguistics (Prof. Kohnen)

- Chair for English Linguistics (Prof. Bongartz)

and three chairs for literary studies:

- Chair for English Studies (Prof. Antor)

- Chair for Anglo-American Studies (Prof. Berressem)

- Chair for English Literature (Prof. Neumeier)

An overview of the chairs' main areas of research and a list of teachers and researchers at each chair can be found on the professors' individual web pages.

As of the winter semester 2009/10, the Department of English has offered a wide-ranging program on Australian literature(s) and linguistics via the DAAD-sponsored Guest Chair for Australian Studies. Please find specific information on the current chairholder and program on the individual web pages of the DAAD Guest Chair for Australian Studies.

The teachers of didactics aim to impart specific methods and contents for students training to be school teachers of English in the programs "Lehramt Englisch am Gymnasium, Gesamtschule und Berufskolleg."

The English native speaker lecturers teach a wide variety of courses focusing on improving all aspects of our students’ command of the English language, as well as their knowledge of the culture and literature of English-speaking countries.

The Administration Office coordinates all administrative procedures at the Department of English, such as course guidance and the review of previous academic achievements for recognition.

Course certificates, module certificates, and transcripts of records are collected at the Student Info Office (SIO). The SIO also offers a number of brochures and handouts on the several programs offered at the Department of English.

The Secretary's Office coordinates the professors' appointments. Please address the secretary about all matters and requests concerning the chairs.